Written by Margaret Kurth
Fred Long purchased the property for Inverlee Lodge on the east end of the east arm of Potato Lake in 1911. A map indicates that Inverlee Lodge was operating in 1915. The Minnesota Department of Game and Fish lists it as a summer resort in 1916 with L. Costly as proprietor.
There was a swimming platform/dance hall built off shore in 1915 as noted in a picture below. Unfortunately, that platform burned in 1920 and was not replaced. Pilings were visible for years under water. Several current residents on the east arm say they have seen the pilings recently when they go looking for them.
By the 1930’s Mr. and Mrs. George Boody and sons were the owners. The resort included 11 housekeeping cottages with ice, bedding, silverware, heat and rowboat for $3-/day. There were also meals, tennis, dancing and sandy beach.
In the 1940’s the ownership of Inverlee Lodge included George Boody, Delmar and Marie Frazey and C. R. Smith. The resort featured 14 fully equipped cabins, grocery store, and new launch. The brochure seen below boasts that the resort is “Picturesquely situated in the heart of Minnesota’s ten thousand lakes.
Gertrude Peterson. The resort was described as completely equipped including boats. There was good fishing and a sandy beach. It was a wonderful place for the whole family. In 1957 the resort was sold to Willard and Gwen Johnson. They sold part of the resort to individuals. A few of the original cabins remain but they have been remodeled.
“ONE OF THE LARGEST LAKES OF THIS REGION WHERE WALL-EYED PIKE, GREAT NORTHERN, BASS AND CRAPPIE INSURE EXCELLENT FISHING.”Inverlee Lodge Brochure